The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I heard about this book awhile ago, and I’ve been on the library’s hold list for months waiting for it. When I finally got it, though, I didn’t read it right away. I was pretty sure that once I started reading it, the book would basically possess me until I finished it.

I was right.

I picked the book up a few nights ago and read the entire thing from cover to cover, even though it wasn’t the most judicious thing to do.

Katniss Everdeen, a sixteen-year-old living in the 12th District of Panem, hunts daily beyond “the fence” to feed her mother and sister. The book opens on the day of the reaping, a yearly occurence where a boy and a girl from each district is chosen by lottery to travel to the Capitol to compete in the Hunger Games. When Katniss’s younger sister, Primrose, is chosen, Katniss volunteers to take her place.

The Hunger Games themselves are the epitome of barbarism: two teenagers from each of the twelve districts are put in some sort of environment to fight.

To the death.

While the entire country is forced to watch on a twisted reality show.

Suzanne Collins’s writing is masterful; I identified and sympathized so completely with the characters I had already cried before page 25. Katniss and her internal struggles were completely believable–from annoyance to rebellion to fear to love to confusion, her voice was absolutely true to her character. While the subject is horrifying, Collins did not dwell on violence. There were no pages I felt like I had to skip because it was too graphic.

I don’t want to say any more, since I don’t want to spoil anything for you. Let me just say this: I can’t wait for the sequel to come out.

Highly recommended for older teens and adults.

I also read the Underland Chronicles by the same author last year, beginning with Gregor the Overlander. Geared for a younger audience, they are fast-paced, well-written, and believably fantasical. I thoroughly enjoyed them. I’d recommend the series for readers ages 8 and up.

Leave a Reply

